How The Media Influences Teenagers

Media influences our children

It is no question that media influences teenagers to a great degree. Adolescents are more impressionable than any other age group. This is because this is a time when they are developing their identities in such a way that society will accept.

The media plays a large role in how teenagers view themselves by shaping images of what teenagers are supposed to be or do. How they’re supposed to dress, how they’re supposed to act… the media shows them this in simple commercials and television shows.

While kids view these shows as simple entertainment, they are really being marketed according to their interests. This is especially true about sex. Because teenagers are naturally curious about sex, the media sells this in copious form through dramatized teenage sexuality and ratings boost. Suddenly sex is casual, carefree, and fun, with hardly any consequences apparent. That just is not the real world.

One good example of this media phenomenon was shown in the Frontline program, “The Merchants of Cool.”

The images in this video really disturbed me, as it shows that media has given the children of America three choices for their future:

1) for a girl to become a “midriff,” so concerned about what other people think about her that she’ll go to extremes to fit in, such as with sexual promiscuity and excessive dieting.

2) for a boy to become a “mook,” a rude, disrespectful daredevil.

3) for them to become a teen rebellion, whose individuality and crudeness will be marketed by the media as just another trend outlet.

It seems they are doomed to become one of these three things because marketers are determined to discover what will sell to teenagers, one of their biggest consumers, the fastest. Like stated before, they have extended this thought into teenage sexuality.

Sex is more “in your face” than it ever has been before, and the media claims that they sell it because kids deal with sex every day. While that may be true, I don’t think they deal with it in the extremes advertised in movies and television.

, , ,

  1. #1 by protein shakes recipes for weight loss on February 26, 2013 - 1:22 AM

    I am in fact grateful to the owner of this web page who has shared this fantastic paragraph at at this place.

  2. #2 by https://www.facebook.com/alexiakefalasfans on December 19, 2012 - 1:47 PM

    Currently it looks like Expression Engine is
    the preferred blogging platform available right now. (from
    what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your
    blog?

  3. #3 by optical-vision.fr on November 6, 2012 - 7:16 PM

    I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content.
    Your article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  4. #4 by find new clothes online on November 14, 2011 - 10:43 PM

    After I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any way you can take away me from that service? Thanks!

  5. #5 by powers on October 27, 2011 - 10:38 PM

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  6. #6 by Fredrick Frisell on October 26, 2011 - 12:01 AM

    Thanks for this

  7. #7 by Jaquelyn Burgman on October 25, 2011 - 11:35 PM

    Thanks for this

  8. #8 by Gwenn Womac on October 25, 2011 - 11:05 PM

    Good information

  9. #9 by Thad Brautigam on October 25, 2011 - 10:22 PM

    Good post thank you

  10. #10 by Eun Housel on October 25, 2011 - 2:56 AM

    This actually answered my drawback, thank you!

  11. #11 by diane on October 23, 2011 - 2:15 AM

    Appreciating the time and effort you put into your weight loss blog and in depth information you present. Its awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isnt the same old rehashed material. Great read! Ive saved your site and Im adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    best diet to lose weight

  12. #12 by Van Kalima on October 19, 2011 - 5:23 PM

    Great, cheers!

  13. #13 by Elisha Lanzillotti on October 17, 2011 - 12:59 PM

    I really am in basketball season mode. I could careless about football right now

  14. #14 by http proxy server on October 4, 2011 - 6:21 PM

    I really trust other visitors find your blog post listed here as handy as I have. I operate a blog personally and would be pleased for you or the visitors on your own site to visit. Please go ahead and search through my website just like I have with your own and leave a comment or two if you find anything interesting. Thank you.

  15. #15 by elite-proxy-server on October 4, 2011 - 6:12 PM

    I really hope other visitors find your posting listed here as handy as I have. I operate a web site personally and would be pleased for you or the guests on your website to check out. Please feel free to search through my website like I have with yours and post a comment or two if you discover anything interesting. Thank you.

  16. #16 by magnetic generators on October 4, 2011 - 5:27 PM

    I hope other people find your write-up here as practical as I have. I manage a site myself and would be happy for you or the guests on your own site to visit. Please go ahead and browse through my website like I have with yours and post a remark or two if you discover anything interesting. Many thanks.

  17. #17 by magnetic generator on October 4, 2011 - 5:24 PM

    I really trust other visitors find your blog post listed here as handy as I have. I operate a blog personally and would be pleased for you or the visitors on your own site to visit. Please go ahead and search through my website just like I have with your own and leave a comment or two if you find anything interesting. Thank you.

  18. #18 by how to build a magnetic generator to power your home on October 4, 2011 - 5:22 PM

    I hope other folks find your posting here as helpful as I have. I manage a weblog by myself and would be more than happy for you or the readers on your web site to visit. Please go ahead and browse through my website just like I have with your own and post a remark or two if you find anything interesting. Many thanks.

  19. #19 by zero point magnetic power generator on October 4, 2011 - 5:20 PM

    I hope other people find your posting right here as handy as I have. I operate a blog site personally and would be more than pleased for you or the visitors on your site to visit. Please go ahead and search through my website like I have with your own and leave a comment or two if you discover anything interesting. Thank you.

  20. #20 by magnetic power generator on October 4, 2011 - 5:17 PM

    I really hope other visitors think your article here as useful as I have. I operate a website by myself and would be more than happy for you or the guests on your own website to visit. Please go ahead and search through my website like I have with yours and post a comment or two if you find anything interesting. Thank you.

  21. #21 by how to make a magnet generator on October 4, 2011 - 5:15 PM

    I hope other people find your write-up here as practical as I have. I manage a site myself and would be happy for you or the guests on your own site to visit. Please go ahead and browse through my website like I have with yours and post a remark or two if you discover anything interesting. Many thanks.

  22. #22 by magnetic generator on October 4, 2011 - 5:11 PM

    I really hope other people consider your post listed here as handy as I have. I run a website myself and would be more than pleased for you or the guests on your own website to visit. Please go ahead and browse through my site just like I have with your own and leave a comment or two if you find anything interesting. Many thanks.

  23. #23 by ubuntu vpn server on October 4, 2011 - 5:10 PM

    I hope other folks find your posting here as helpful as I have. I manage a weblog by myself and would be more than happy for you or the readers on your web site to visit. Please go ahead and browse through my website just like I have with your own and post a remark or two if you find anything interesting. Many thanks.

  1. magnetic power generator,magnetic generator, magnetic generator motor

Have a nice day

  • RSS BBC Sport News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Casbaa Cares

  • Save the children

  • Unicef USA

  • October 2011
    M T W T F S S
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Currency Converter

    themoneyconverter.com
  • RSS Exchange Rates For US Dollar

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Blogger

    Bloggers - Meet Millions of Bloggers

  • Blorner

    Find me on blorner.com